Home > Publications > Books


You can buy Joes's books here or via Amazon.

For enquiries about Joe's publications please contact:



New edition of Why I Hate You and Why You Hate Me:
Editure Trei, 2017, Bucuresti, Romania

Joseph Berke



The Hidden Freud: His Hassidic Roots. Published by Karnac Books.

Joseph Berke



Why I Hate You and You Hate Me. The interplay of Envy, Greed, Jealousy and Narcissism in Everyday Life. Karnac Books, London, 2012

Joseph Berke



The Highgate Haggadah of Tu B'Shvat (Narrative of the Birthday for trees). Published in 2013, Teva Publications: London.

Joseph Berke



Malice Through the Looking Glass Reflections and Refractions of Envy, Greed and Jealousy. Revised Second Edition, 2009. Teva Publications: London

Malice Through the Looking Glass



Centers of Power : The Convergence of Psychoanalysis and Kaballah
(with Stanley Schneider) Jason Aronson Publishers, New York, 2008.

Centres of Power


Beyond Madness: Psychosocial Interventions in Psychosis (Co-Editor and Contributor).
Jessica Kingsley Publishers, London, 2001.


Mary Barnes: Two Accounts of a Journey Through Madness (with Mary Barnes)

American editions:

Harcourt, Brace & Jovanovitch, New York, 1971
Psychology Today Bookclub, 1971
Ballantine Books, 1971
The Other Press, New York, 2002 (3rd revised edition)

British editions:

MacGibbon & Kee, London, 1971
Penguin Books, 1973
Pelican Books, 1982 (Revised, expanded edition)
Free Association Books, 1990 (2nd Revised edition)

Other editions:

Finnish, Danish, Dutch, French, Norwegian, Swedish, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese, and Italian.


Stage play by David Edgar, Eyre Methuen, 1979

Un voyage a travers la folie
Editions du Seuil, Paris, 2002 (2nd revised edition)

  Click here for Mary Barnes website

The Other Press, New York, 2002 (3rd revised edition).


Counter Culture: The Creation of an Alternative Society (Editor and Contributor)
Peter Owen Ltd, London 1969.


The Cannabis Experience: An Interpretative Study of the Effects of Marijuana and Hashish (with Carvin C. Hernton)
Peter Owen Ltd, London 1974.
Quartet Books, 1976


Butterfly Man: Madness, Degradation & Redemption
Hutchinson & Co, London 1977
French edition, 1970


I Haven't Had To Go Mad Here.
Pelican Books, London, 1979.
Spanish edition, 1980


The Tyranny of Malice: Exploring the Dark Side of Character and Culture.
Summit Books, New York, 1988
Simon & Schuster (UK), London, 1989.


Sanctuary: The Arbours Experience of Alternative Community Care (Co-Editor and Contributor)
Process Press, London, 1995.


Even Paranoids Have Enemies: New Perspectives on Paranoia and Persecution (Co-Editor and Contributor)
Routledge, London and New York, 1998.